November 9th, 2021
MADD About Driving Drunk
The Georgia affiliate of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) received $158,933 from the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety! Congratulations!
MADD Georgia says it will use the money for educational programs focused on the prevention and awareness of impaired driving and underage drinking in our state.
MADD’s Power of Parents and Power of You(th) programs are designed to reduce impaired driving through DUI prevention initiatives for law enforcement, military, educational, and community groups.
MADD also partners with the state’s Hands Across the Border and Click It or Ticket campaigns each year.
MADD and the state’s highway safety program have been credited with helping to drastically reduce the number of drunk driving deaths in the state but that does not mean the job is done. Numerous deaths on our roadways each year are still attributed to impaired driving.
MADD was founded by a mother whose daughter was killed by a drunk driver, and anyone who has not experienced that pain cannot imagine the anger, frustration, and desperation caused by such tragedy.
Turning that anger into action has helped to save lives and anyone can help support that effort, whether you are a mother or not.
We encourage all parents to have serious conversations with young drivers and consider having them sign a pledge to never drive under the influence.
We caution all drivers that drinking and driving have serious consequences that can include losing your driver’s license, hefty fines, jail time, and, worst of all, the loss of life.
How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Georgia?
Georgia drivers convicted of a DUI can expect to pay roughly 86% more for insurance than what they paid pre-DUI.
Georgia drivers also face numerous penalties from the state after a DUI conviction. Penalties include such things as jail time, community service, and fines.
If your drunk driving injures or kills someone, the penalties will likely be much more severe than what is listed below and will be determined by a court of law.
|First DUI||Second DUI||Third DUI|
|Fines||Minimum $300, plus court fees and surcharges||$600- $1,000, plus court fees and surcharges||$1,000-$5,000, plus court fees and surcharges|
|Jail Time||1 to 10 days||90 days to 1 year (may be mitigated with probation, but 3 days remain mandatory)||120 days to 1 year (at least 15 days must be spent incarcerated)|
|Probation||1 year||1 to 3 years||1 to 3 years|
|Community Service||At least 40 hours||240 hours||240 hours|
|License Suspension||Possible, with limited driving permit||At least 1 year||5 years, with the option for a limited permit for the first two years|
|Ignition Interlock Device||Varies||Yes||Yes|
Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.