With fewer people on the roads during the coronavirus pandemic, the Atlanta Police Department has repeatedly said they are dealing with street racing issues.
Atlanta police followed through on the “hard stand” they said they would take against the drivers, those who record them and gather in large groups – sometimes even lighting fireworks.
The operation resulted in the arrest of 44 individuals for activities related to street racing.
Additionally, 114 citations were issued, 29 vehicles were impounded, and four firearms were recovered, including a semi-automatic rifle.
“We pledged to deal with these speeders and reckless drivers who have shown a complete disregard for the safety of others with these dangerous antics,” said Chief Erika Shields. “With the help of our law enforcement partners, we made inroads. We will continue to impound, arrest and seek costly fines for those individuals who choose Atlanta for this senseless behavior.”
Arrests and citations included traffic offenses such as laying drag, speeding and reckless driving to other criminal offenses such as DUI, drinking in public, and possession of marijuana, police said. One convicted felon was found to be in possession of a firearm and charged.
Atlanta police department was assisted by the Georgia State Patrol, the Clayton County Sheriff’s Office and the Fulton County Sheriff’s Office and the City of Atlanta Department of Corrections.
They said they focused this operation on known hot spots, including interstates and Spring Street in Midtown, and are prepared to continue focusing on these illegal activities as long as needed.
There are many reasons an individual might elect or be required to take the 6-hour Defensive Driving Class:
Many Courts in Georgia will dismiss a ticket for a traffic violation if the offender completes the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program prior to going to Court. If dismissed, there will be no points placed on your driving record and your insurance will not increase.
You may complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program once every 5 years to remove up to 7 points from your record to prevent your license from being revoked.
If your license has been suspended, you must complete the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program before your license is reinstated.
The 6-hour Defensive Driving Program may be taken for a 20% reduction of the traffic fine and may result in the court not adding points to your record.
If you have a clean driving record for 3 years, you may take the 6-hour Defensive Driving Program to receive a 10% -15% discount on your auto insurance premium. The insurance discount percentage is determined by your insurance company.
Earn Your Certificate of Completion
Each student will receive a Certificate of Completion.
Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol
Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.
For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!