State troopers and local law enforcement officers are stepping up traffic enforcement during the Christmas/New Year’s holiday season and will take any drunk or drugged driver they find to jail. No excuses! No exceptions!
The increased enforcement effort is part of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) national ‘Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over’ mobilization, which runs from December 15, 2021 – January 2, 2022.
Georgia law enforcement officers and highway safety advocates are urging anyone planning to include alcohol in their celebration to include a plan for a ride with a sober driver, cab, or rideshare.
GEORGIA DUI LAWS:
Georgia drivers can be charged with DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher.
When you are arrested for a DUI in Georgia, you’ll have to deal with both a criminal case and a separate license suspension. The Georgia Department of Driver Services will handle your license suspension pursuant to the implied consent laws and the GA criminal courts will prosecute the criminal case.
What happens in court won’t have any bearing on the status of your driver’s license and vice versa.
The Georgia courts impose criminal penalties including:
- Jail time;
- Public service.
The Department of Driver Services imposes administrative penalties including:
- Suspension or revocation of your license.
The higher your BAC, the more severe your penalties may be. Multiple convictions will also result in harsher sentences.
The state with the lowest drunken driving rate in the nation? That commendable distinction went to Delaware, with 44.3 DUI arrests per 100,000 people.
Men are far more likely than women to be arrested on drunken driving charges, as males accounted for nearly three in four DUI arrests in 2018, according to U.S. Drug Test Centers.
Additionally, whites accounted for 81.2 percent of DUI arrests in 2018, according to the report.
Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol
For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!