The Governor’s Office of Highway Safety has announced that the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office is one of 21 law enforcement agencies in Georgia to receive a Highway Enforcement of Aggressive Traffic grant for the 2021 grant season.
Referred to as a H.E.A.T. grant, Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office’s award totals $108,444.60.
The goal of the H.E.A.T. program is to combat crashes, injuries and fatalities caused by impaired driving and speeding, while also increasing seatbelt use and educating the public about traffic safety and the dangers of DUI.
The Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office H.E.A.T Unit will use the grant from Governor’s Office of Highway Safety to develop and implement strategies to reduce local traffic crashes due to aggressive and dangerous driving behaviors.
Governor’s Office of Highway Safety H.E.A.T. grants are funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
“The loss of one life on our roads is one too many, and the fact almost all fatal traffic crashes can be prevented is one reason why we are awarding this grant,” Governor’s Office of Highway Safety Director Allen Poole said.
“The target of zero traffic deaths in our nation is achievable, and we will continue to help develop and implement educational messages and enforcement campaigns aimed at bringing our state one step closer to that goal.”
As law enforcement partners in the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over DUI and Click It or Ticket seatbelt campaigns, the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office will also conduct mobilizations throughout the year in coordination with Governor’s Office of Highway Safety’s year-round waves of high visibility patrols, concentrated patrols, and multi-jurisdictional sobriety checkpoints.
The grant will continue through September 2021.
DUI Laws | What You Need to Know
The laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have BAC percentages of:
- 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
- 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
- 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.
Georgia State law also requires a clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol
Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.
For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!