Police Chief Joe Spillane resigned last week following an arrest in Fayette County for DUI, a school spokeswoman told 11Alive.
She said it was his second arrest while serving as GSU police chief.
Following his resignation, the university named Assistant Chief Anthony Coleman as interim police chief.
In 2017, following a DUI arrest, he told 11Alive he was disappointed for getting himself into that situation.
“I’m human – and it happens,” he said as he apologized for that arrest.
DUI Laws | What You Need to Know
The laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have BAC percentages of:
- 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
- 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
- 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.
Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol
Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.