Two Rockdale County Deputies are on administrative leave following an arrest and citation by Georgia State Patrol for alcohol-related offenses.
Tobias Holmes, who was the driver and taken into custody, and Brandon Oglesby, a passenger inside the vehicle who reportedly had an open container.
On Dec. 5, GSP notified the Rockdale County Sheriff’s Office that a deputy had been arrested and charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. A second deputy was cited for having an open container.
According to the incident report, a Georgia State Patrol trooper was on an unrelated traffic stop when a car sped by him at over 100 mph.
The trooper began to pursue the car, which sped up more in an attempt to elude the officer. At that time, the car was traveling at 134 mph in a 60 mph zone.
It wasn’t until another trooper helped the original officer box the speeding car in that the driver finally stopped.
After putting the driver in handcuffs, Holmes told the GSP trooper that he was a law enforcement officer and complained about the handcuffs being too tight. He also refused a sobriety test.
The trooper also noted in his report that all of the passengers in the car were inebriated and unable to drive.
DUI Laws | What You Need to Know
The laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have BAC percentages of:
- 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
- 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
- 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.
Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol
Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.