According to the police statement released on social media, the patrol officer had stopped another vehicle on the shoulder of the highway near Windsor Parkway and was in his patrol car with emergency lights activated when the crash occurred.
The patrol car was struck by another driver on Ga. 400 just before 1 a.m.
Police have since identified the driver of the other vehicle as 24-year-old Khiry Smith of Atlanta. He now faces multiple charges, including driving under the influence, violation of Georgia’s “Move-Over” law, open container, and reckless driving.
Meanwhile, police haven’t specified the condition of the officer hit in the crash but stressed to the public the importance of using rideshare services rather than drinking and driving.
Our thoughts and prayers go out to the family and friends of the officer involved.
“If you plan on drinking and need to get somewhere, please use services such as Uber, Lyft or call a friend,” the message stated. “Doing these simple things can save a life, including your own.”
Georgia State law requires a clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol
Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.
The Georgia Move Over Law requires drivers to move over one lane when possible if:
- An emergency vehicle with flashing lights is parked on the shoulder of the highway
- If traffic is too heavy to move over safely, the law requires drivers to slow down below the posted speed limit instead AND to be prepared to stop.
Move Over Law:
- The operator of a motor vehicle approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle that is displaying flashing yellow, amber, white, red, or blue lights shall approach the authorized emergency vehicle with due caution and shall, absent any other direction by a peace officer, proceed as follows:
1. Make a lane change into a lane not adjacent to the authorized emergency vehicle if possible in the existing safety and traffic conditions; or
2. If a lane change under paragraph (1) of this subsection would be impossible, prohibited by law, or unsafe, reduce the speed of the motor vehicle to a reasonable and proper speed for the existing road and traffic conditions, which speed shall be less than the posted speed limit, and be prepared to stop.
- Violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this Code section shall be punished by a fine of not more than $500.00.
There is a lot of useful information such as this Move Over Law that is taught in driving the class and it will apply whether you have been driving for years or you are a brand new driver.
For more information about class schedules or to see A-1’s 19 convenient locations call (770)962-9555 or visit us at www.a1drivingschools.com!