UGA Running Back Arrested on Open Container Charge – A-1 Driving Schools | 19 Locations in Atlanta, GA

UGA Running Back Arrested on Open Container Charge

University of Georgia sophomore running back James Cook was arrested for having an open container of alcohol after police found an unsealed 1.75 liter glass bottle of Hennessy Cognac behind the driver’s seat of the 2017 Dodge Charger he was driving.

Photo: Google Images

A Bulldog offensive lineman was in the passenger seat next to Cook when the vehicle was pulled over, according to an Athens Clarke-County police report.

An officer patrolling on East Clayton Street observed the vehicle’s dealer tag, but could not see the expiration date. When the police moved behind the vehicle, Cook changed lanes.

The officer felt “the driver was attempting to evade me checking the temporary tag,” the report noted. The car pulled into a handicapped space and police noticed that the temporary tag number indicated an unknown insurance status.

After he was pulled over, Cook told the officer he did not have his driver’s license and he was a Georgia football player. The officer later learned Cook’s license was invalid.

The officer smelled burned marijuana, the report noted. Cook said there wasn’t any marijuana in the vehicle because he smoked it.

However, a marijuana “shake” was seen on the center console, according to the report.

Cook is Georgia’s fourth-leading rusher. Coach Kirby Smart and the school have yet to comment on Cook’s arrest.

DUI Laws | What You Need to Know

The laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have BAC percentages of:

  • 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
  • 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
  • 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.

Georgia State law also requires a clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:

  1. DUI
  2. Drug Possession
  3. Other drug offenses
  4. Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol

Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.

Cook will be able to complete the following at A-1’s Athens location.

For more information about DUI School visit or call (770) 962-9555!

Posted in : General Driving

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *