Jenny Chiem – A-1 Driving School

What Will a DUI Cost?

National vs state average annual rates with DUI

Pre-DUI Post DUI Percent Increase
National $1,674 $3,336 99%
Georgia $1,982 $3,691 86%

Georgia’s average annual percentage increase is lower than the national average, but drivers can still expect to pay more for car insurance after a DUI.

How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Georgia?

Georgia drivers convicted of a DUI can expect to pay roughly 86% more for insurance than what they paid pre-DUI.

Georgia drivers also face numerous penalties from the state after a DUI conviction. Penalties include such things as jail time, community service, and fines.

If your drunk driving injures or kills someone, the penalties will likely be much more severe than what is listed below and will be determined by a court of law.

First DUI Second DUI Third DUI
Fines Minimum $300, plus court fees and surcharges $600- $1,000, plus court fees and surcharges $1,000-$5,000, plus court fees and surcharges
Jail Time 1 to 10 days 90 days to 1 year (may be mitigated with probation, but 3 days remain mandatory) 120 days to 1 year (at least 15 days must be spent incarcerated)
Probation 1 year 1 to 3 years 1 to 3 years
Community Service At least 40 hours 240 hours 240 hours
Preventative Class Yes Yes Yes
License Suspension Possible, with limited driving permit At least 1 year 5 years, with the option for a limited permit for the first two years
Ignition Interlock Device Varies Yes Yes

Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.

For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!

How Long a DUI Can Stay on Your Record

Photo: Google Images

The 10-Year Rule in Georgia Explained:

Georgia sentencing guidelines require that if you are convicted of a second DUI within 10-years, you will be sentenced to a minimum of 72 hours in jail and a fine that ranges from $600 to $1,000 (plus court surcharges).

You will also receive 240 hours of community service, DUI School, 12 months on probation, a clinical evaluation, and any recommended substance abuse treatment.

The 5-Year Rule in Georgia Explained:

If you are convicted of a second DUI within 5 years, the penalties are even more severe.

In addition to the penalties listed above, you will also be required to pay a $25.00 fee to publish a notice of your conviction and your photograph in your county newspaper.

You will also be required to surrender the license plates to any vehicle registered in your name, and your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 18 months.

If you are convicted of a second DUI within a 5-year period, you will be ineligible for a limited driving permit for at least 4 months.  Additionally, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car as a prerequisite to getting a permit to drive.

DUI Laws | What You Need to Know

The laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have BAC percentages of:

  • 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
  • 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
  • 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.

Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:

  1. DUI
  2. Drug Possession
  3. Other drug offenses
  4. Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol

Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.

For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!

Federal Agents Seize $2.82 Million Worth of Cocaine-Coated Corn Flakes

Photo: Google Images

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) officers in Cincinnati intercepted the smuggled drugs in a shipment of cereal coming from South America.

The shipment contained about 44 pounds of cocaine-coated corn flakes, which could have a street value of up to $2,822,400.

CBP Narcotic Detector Dog “Bico” was working incoming freight from Peru when he alerted to a large shipment of cereal headed to a private home in Hong Kong.

When officers opened the box to take a closer look, they saw the cereal contained white powder, and the flakes were coated with a grayish substance.

Officers tested the flakes and powder and found they contained cocaine.

Cincinnati Port Director Richard Gillespie emphasized that smugglers will hide narcotics in anything imaginable.

“The men and women at the Port of Cincinnati are committed to stopping the flow of dangerous drugs, and they continue to use their training, intuition, and strategic skills to prevent these kinds of illegitimate shipments from reaching the public,” Gillespie said.

Georgia State law also requires a clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:

  1. DUI
  2. Drug Possession
  3. Other drug offenses
  4. Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol

For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!

Bartow Park Coordinator Arrested In Government Vehicle

Bartow County Sheriff’s Office (BCSO) records indicate Christopher Joel Patterson — the Gatewood Park Coordinator — was taken into police custody following a stop conducted by a Georgia State Patrol (GSP) officer.
A GSP report obtained by The Daily Tribune News indicates the incident occurred near Bartow Beach Road and Jim Knight Road.
Per the GSP report, officer Richard Holman was contacted by BCSO deputy Ryan Wilson, who told him there was a vehicle stopped and that “the driver was intoxicated.”
Holman arrived on the scene at around 6:42 p.m. Per his write-up of the incident, Patterson, 45, was in a Bartow County vehicle at the time — a 1999 Ford truck with a “GV55546” license plate.
“He advised me he was attempting to block the road by his house to keep a vehicle trapped within a parking lot,” the report reads. “He stated that he was drinking beer and cooking dinner when he heard a truck doing doughnuts in a parking lot.”
The incident report notes that Patterson agreed to participate in a field sobriety test.
BCSO records indicate Patterson is facing one count of failing to exercise due care while operating a motor vehicle and one count of driving under the influence of alcohol to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive.

Georgia State law also requires a clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:

  1. DUI
  2. Drug Possession
  3. Other drug offenses
  4. Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol

For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!

Tyrece Radford Found Guilty of DUI

Suspended Virginia Tech men’s basketball standout was found guilty in Montgomery County General District Court of first-offense driving under the influence.

Radford also pleaded no contest to carrying a concealed weapon. Judge Randal Duncan took that case under advisement for a year and could dismiss that charge at the end of that period.

“You have too much going for you,” Duncan told Radford in the disposition hearing. “Do better.”

Photo: Google Images

Radford was indefinitely suspended from the nationally ranked Hokies on Jan. 25 after being arrested by Blacksburg police a day earlier. He was charged with one misdemeanor count of first-offense driving while intoxicated and one misdemeanor count of carrying a concealed weapon.

Radford and his attorney, Jimmy Turk, reached a plea agreement on the DUI charge with the Montgomery County Commonwealth’s Attorney’s office.

Under the plea agreement, Radford pleaded not guilty to driving under the influence with the stipulation that he be found guilty.

Radford was sentenced to a 60-day suspended jail sentence and a $1,000 fine, with $750 of that suspended.

Radford, who has a Louisiana driver’s license, also had his driving privileges in Virginia revoked for 12 months — unless he gets a Virginia driver’s license, in which case his license will be restricted and he must have the ignition interlock device in his car.

Radford was also placed on probation for 12 months.

DUI Laws | What You Need to Know

The laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have BAC percentages of:

  • 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
  • 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
  • 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.

Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:

  1. DUI
  2. Drug Possession
  3. Other drug offenses
  4. Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol

Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.

For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!

Car Insurance Guide

Car insurance discounts aren’t always what they seem. For example, you might think “big savings!” when you see a discount advertised with up to 40% off, but that doesn’t necessarily mean you’re going to get 40% off your entire car insurance bill.

Here are some discount car insurance tips.

Some discounts apply only to specific coverage types, not your entire bill. For example, seat belt discounts might be applied only to your cost for medical payments coverage or personal injury protection, because those types pay for passenger injuries.  Anti-theft device discounts might apply only to comprehensive coverage because that’s the coverage that pays for car theft.

Discounts can be capped. You might qualify for multiple discounts, but the insurance company usually limits the total possible discount percentage. For example, you might add up discounts that look like 75% off your auto insurance, but the total might be capped at 20%.

Not all discounts are automatic. You might have to ask for them, especially if you’ve had the same policy for a few years. Your insurance company may not know that you had an anti-theft device installed in your car, or that your student driver has excellent grades. The best way to save money on discounts is to ask your insurance agent on a regular basis to review your policy.

Discounts vary by state and the insurance company. A discount you see mentioned on an insurance company website might not actually be available in your state.

Insurance companies place teen drivers in the high-risk category. So, teens have to pay more for their insurance. One way for teen drivers to lower their car insurance rates is by graduating from a defensive driving course.

For additional info about class schedules or to see A-1’s 19 convenient locations call (770)962-9555 or visit us at www.a1drivingschools.com!

Georgia State Patrol Arrests Man for Meth Trafficking

During a road check, GSP stopped a man, identified as 29-year-old Dreon Markale Neal, in the area of MLK Jr. Drive and Carter Street.

Georgia State Patrol troopers say they’ve seized roughly a pound of meth

Through testing, troopers said they determined Neal was driving under the influence so they stopped him and searched his vehicle.

During the search of his vehicle, Neal ran away but troopers were able to take him back into custody, GSP said.

Inside the car, troopers found a Glock handgun, 15 clear baggies of methamphetamine that weighed about a pound together, and about $6,000 in cash.

Based on the evidence, Neal was arrested and charged with multiple crimes including trafficking in methamphetamines, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, escaping, and driving under the influence.

Georgia State law also requires a clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:

  1. DUI
  2. Drug Possession
  3. Other drug offenses
  4. Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol

For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!

Driving in the Rain Can Be A Nightmare

Photo: Google Images

1. Double-Check Your Car’s Equipment

Make sure that your car’s equipment is in working order before encountering rainy weather. Check your headlights, taillights, and windshield wipers to make sure that they will work efficiently when they are needed. Also, check the tread of your vehicle’s tires. Balding tires can severely reduce traction on wet roadways.

2. Slow Down

Not only should you adhere to the posted speed limit when driving in wet weather conditions, but you should also drive considerably slower than you normally would. Wet roads are very dangerous. Your vehicle’s reaction time is much slower when it is raining. Reduced speed is imperative in rainy weather.

3. Turn On Your Headlights

Most states require drivers to turn on their vehicles’ lights while driving in rain. Even if it is only misting, turning on your vehicle’s headlights will increase both your own visibility and other drivers’ ability to see your car on the road.

4. Maintain a Safe Distance Between Cars

Keep a greater distance between your vehicle and the car in front of you. Stopping your vehicle will be more difficult when driving in the rain. Maintain a distance of several car lengths between your car and other vehicles.

4. Avoid Heavy Breaking

Try to slow your vehicle by taking your foot off the accelerator earlier than you normally would in preparation to slow down or stop. Don’t use cruise control so your attention on using both the gas and brake is in tune.

5. Watch Out For Standing Water

Driving through standing water can cause hydroplaning to occur. Which is when you lose traction and skid across the surface of the road. To avoid hydroplaning, drive around places where water has collected by changing lanes or safely steering around such areas.

6. Let Off The Gas When Hydroplaning

Hydroplaning is one of the most common car accidents in the rain because drivers can lose control. If your car hydroplanes, calmly take your foot off the accelerator and steer in the direction that the front of your car needs to go. Avoid making sudden turns or slamming on your brakes.

Staying safe while driving in the rain is simple if you make a conscious effort to employ these safety precautions. Remember that reducing your speed and turning on your lights are two of the simplest and most effective ways of reducing the chances of an accident caused by wet weather!

Consider taking a driving course at A-1 if you are interested in learning more rules and regulations such as these. There is a lot of very useful and informative information in the class and it will apply whether you have been driving for years or you are a brand new driver.

The same safe driving practices that are taught in A-1’s Defensive Driving Class can be applied to be a safe driver in a car and on a motorcycle!

For more information about class schedules or to see A-1’s 19 convenient locations call (770)962-9555 or visit us at www.a1drivingschools.com!

Drive Confidently

The first couple of years of driving for a teenager are statistically the most dangerous of all. Teen drivers can lower their car crash risk by enrolling in a defensive driving course!

Teen drivers that graduate from a defensive driving course can get the following benefits:

Photo: Google Images
  • Learning the fundamentals of driving. Teen drives will learn the traffic rules in a systemic way.
  • Builds confidence. The first time behind the wheels can be a scary or stressful experience for a teen driver. Teen drivers can practice in a safe environment, where they can build confidence in their abilities and skills as they learn how to drive with the help of an experienced driver.
  • Shows them the risks. Teen drivers need to be aware that driving is dangerous. Being too nervous is dangerous, but if a teen driver is not nervous at all, it means he is not aware of how risky driving can be. Teens will learn how dangerous driving can be and what risks are involved. They will also learn how to avoid those risks.
  • Learning the consequences. In this course, teens will learn about the effects of driving under influence (DUI). Teen drivers will also learn they will have to take responsibility for their safety and the safety of others.
  • Practice time. Teenagers will practice their driving skills in a safe, supervised environment. Teen drivers can learn driving techniques from qualified instructors and can develop their skills.
  • Learn the state’s laws. Traffic laws differ from one state to another. Depending on which state the teen driver is taking the course, he will be presented with the laws of that state.
  • Cheaper insurance premiums. Insurance companies place the teen drivers in the high-risk category, thus they have to pay more for their insurance. One way for teen drivers to lower their car insurance rates is by graduating from a defensive driving course.

For additional info about class schedules or to see A-1’s 19 convenient locations call (770)962-9555 or visit us at www.a1drivingschools.com!

Quick Refresher: GA DUI Laws To Keep in Mind

GEORGIA DUI LAWS:

Georgia drivers can be charged with DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher.

When you are arrested for a DUI in Georgia, you’ll have to deal with both a criminal case and a separate license suspension. The Georgia Department of Driver Services will handle your license suspension pursuant to the implied consent laws and the GA criminal courts will prosecute the criminal case.

What happens in court won’t have any bearing on the status of your driver’s license and vice versa.

The Georgia courts impose criminal penalties including:

  • Fines;
  • Jail time;
  • Public service.

The Department of Driver Services imposes administrative penalties including:

  • Suspension or revocation of your license.

The higher your BAC, the more severe your penalties may be. Multiple convictions will also result in harsher sentences.

The state with the lowest drunken driving rate in the nation? That commendable distinction went to Delaware, with 44.3 DUI arrests per 100,000 people.

Men are far more likely than women to be arrested on drunken driving charges, as males accounted for nearly three in four DUI arrests in 2018, according to U.S. Drug Test Centers.

Additionally, whites accounted for 81.2 percent of DUI arrests in 2018, according to the report.

Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:

  1. DUI
  2. Drug Possession
  3. Other drug offenses
  4. Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol

For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!