Quantez Alfred Leonard, 34, of Jonesboro, is charged with cocaine trafficking, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, possession of a firearm during the commission of a crime, and DUI.
Deputies patrolling the interstate spotted a 1999 S-10 pickup truck driving erratically near exit 51, heading southbound.
After making a traffic stop on the truck, deputies observed the smell of alcohol coming from the vehicle and asked the driver to perform a field sobriety test.
Leonard reportedly failed to complete the test and was transported to the Coweta County Jail.
While performing an inventory of the truck, deputies located 41 grams of cocaine located in a lunchbox cooler, along with plastic baggies and a digital scale, according to Lt. Chuck Smith.
DUI Laws | What You Need to Know
The laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have BAC percentages of:
- 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
- 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
- 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.
Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol
Before getting behind the wheel after having a few, consider the many reasons why you should not.
For more information about DUI School visit www.a1drivingschools.com or call (770) 962-9555!