A 60-year-old man with three DUI convictions on his record was arrested on another drunk-driving charge after being found shirtless and passed out in his truck in a store parking lot.
Mark James Havens, was charged with DUI (fourth or subsequent offense).
A deputy on-site observed the keys were still in the ignition. Havens had bloodshot eyes, his speech was slurred, and the smell of intoxicating beverages was emitting from within the vehicle.
Havens told the deputy he drank “a few” beers earlier in the day, the report said.
Another deputy responded and observed the vehicle was parked at an odd angle and was halfway out of the parking space, with the passenger-side front and rear tires in the grass. The second deputy observed Havens’ face was flushed, his eyes were bloodshot and watery, and his speech was slow, slurred, and mumbled, according to the report.
Havens failed a series of field sobriety tests and was taken to Jail, where a breathalyzer test came back with results of .132 and .115.
A records check showed Havens was convicted of DUI in 1985 and 1990 in Georgia, and 2014 in Marion County, the report said.
GEORGIA DUI LAWS:
Georgia drivers can be charged with DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher.
When you are arrested for a DUI in Georgia, you’ll have to deal with both a criminal case and a separate license suspension. The Georgia Department of Driver Services will handle your license suspension pursuant to the implied consent laws and the GA criminal courts will prosecute the criminal case.
What happens in court won’t have any bearing on the status of your driver’s license and vice versa.
The Georgia courts impose criminal penalties including:
- Jail time;
- Public service.
The Department of Driver Services imposes administrative penalties including:
- Suspension or revocation of your license.
The higher your BAC, the more severe your penalties may be. Multiple convictions will also result in harsher sentences.
The state with the lowest drunken driving rate in the nation? That commendable distinction went to Delaware, with 44.3 DUI arrests per 100,000 people.
Men are far more likely than women to be arrested on drunken driving charges, as males accounted for nearly three in four DUI arrests in 2018, according to U.S. Drug Test Centers.
Additionally, whites accounted for 81.2 percent of DUI arrests in 2018, according to the report.
Georgia State law also requires clinical evaluation and the attendance of a DUI / Risk Reduction Program that’s certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services before your driver’s license can be reinstated if you have been charged with any of the following:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Under-age possession of drugs or alcohol